What are the 4 types of mesothelioma?

On Behalf of | Sep 2, 2021 | mesothelioma

Construction, maritime and industrial plant workers work with asbestos for different purposes. Still, the consequences of handling these minerals are the same for everyone: the risk of developing mesothelioma. Mesothelioma is a rare form of cancer that occurs in the thin layer of tissue that covers the surface of some of the body’s organs. There are 4 different types of mesothelioma, and all of them can have catastrophic consequences on a person’s health.

4 different types of mesothelioma

Doctors divide mesothelioma into four different types, depending on where on the body the cancer develops. All types are considered aggressive forms of cancer, but some are more common than others. The different types of mesothelioma are:

  • Pleural mesothelioma: affects the tissue that surrounds the lungs.
  • Peritoneal mesothelioma: occurs in the tissue in the abdomen.
  • Pericardial mesothelioma: affects the tissue surrounding the heart.
  • Testicular mesothelioma: occurs in the tissue surrounding the testicles.

Because mesothelioma is rare, scientists have still not found its cure. However, it has been shown that chemotherapy, photodynamic therapy and alternating electric fields can slow its growth.

Identifying the symptoms of pleural mesothelioma

Pleural mesothelioma is the most common type of mesothelioma. This type of mesothelioma occurs when an individual inhales asbestos while performing their job duties. Its primary symptoms are shortness of breath, chest pain, coughs and occasional fevers.

A worker’s right

Exposure to asbestos is dangerous. For this reason, employers must avoid making their workers handle asbestos. However, if they force a worker to work with asbestos, and then the worker develops cancer, the worker has the right to seek justice and compensation for their pain. No one deserves to suffer from mesothelioma, and workers have the right to take action against the employer at fault for their condition.